New album “Presence” out now!


Jump to:    Press    Discography    Video


Brad’s new album Presence is out now! Buy it from Destiny Records or iTunes

Brad’s album Pathless Land is also available! Buy it from Destiny Records or on iTunes

Press for “Pathless Land”

Photo by Reuben Radding

4 Stars
“With his first album, Pathless Land, New York pianist-organist Brad Whiteley offers more than a smart record. He shows us how it’s done.”
“Over Salters’ supportive beat and his own deep bass lines, Whiteley gets warm, funky, playful, and enthusiastic. Much like the way he planned out Pathless Land, “Bass Instincts” (Track 3) gives you everything you need, and not a drop more. Because no one needs that extra drop, it’s a waste”
—Brad Farberman Downbeat Magazine July 2014 Issue

“He certainly succeeds in achieving that balance with his nine original compositions here, making Whiteley an exciting young artist to watch. When playing piano, he’s got a great touch and strong sense of melody. When playing organ, he’ll get your feet moving.”
—Bobby Reed Downbeat Editors Pick June 2014

“Brad Whiteley delivers music that’s easy and enjoyable to traverse.”
“Whiteley’s ability to hone in on an idea and trim away excess…guides and informs this work.”
“everything…is expertly balanced and aligned on Pathless Land.”
—Dan Bilawsky All About Jazz

“Whiteley puts his knack for emotionally vivid third-stream piano on display with “Suite: Contemplation” (Track 4), anchoring Lloyd’s crystalline, deep-sky vocalese with brooding   block chords and steady, eerily Satie-esque figures over Salters’ misterioso mallet and cymbal work. Likewise, “Suite: Resolve” (Track 7) mingles darkly latin-tinged phrases and uneasy chromatics over a restless drive punctuated by an elegantly insistent Foose solo and a relentless, shamanic, otherworldly spirit duel between the piano and the drums.”
“The eclecticism of these compositions testifies to Whiteley’s long view of music from Bach to the B3. Yet in the end, Whiteley’s translucent, melodic sound is uniquely his own.”
—Delarue Lucid Culture

“This inspired program is filled with expressiveness and creativity and reveals Whiteley’s limitless imagination. Overall, Pathless Land is sure to interest his fans and attract many new ones. Check it out.”
—Paula Edelstein Sounds Of Timeless Jazz

Press as a Sideman

“In bringing his music to life, Eaton leverages the talents of his band mates. Pianist Brad Whiteley proves to be the greatest asset here. He builds foundations sympathetic to Eaton’s mindset, moves in lockstep with various players, delivers idiosyncratic thoughts, weaves catchy ostinatos into the fabric of the music, and speaks with authority while doing all of it.”
– Dan Biwalsky All About Jazz

“Organist Brad Whiteley proves to be the perfect foil for Moran’s soloing, supplying the bed for the guitarist’s always-interesting solos. Whiteley also proves no slouch in the soloing department, with imaginative and funky turns on pretty much every cut.”
– John Heidt  Vintage Guitar Magazine

“When the organ is in the right hands under these circumstances, as is the case with the Nick Moran Trio’s “No time Like Now,” it can’t help but be an exciting instrument to listen to, in this regard Brad Whiteley has acquitted himself with aplomb on every track; there is no hint of pedagogy in his playing personality, and on the date’s final selection (“Renewal”), he breaks out of his bag with pungent swing, mixed delicately with some Monkish dissonance
– C J Bond

Select Discography


  • Brad Whiteley, Presence 2018 Second album of original compositions, recorded at Avatar Studio A with Michael Eaton on saxophone, Tom Guarna on guitar, Matt Pavolka on bass, and Kenneth Salters on drums


  • Michael Eaton, Dialogical 2019 African/Minimalist inspired jazz featuring Lionel Loueke on guitar, with Michael Eaton on saxophone, myself on piano, Daniel Ori on bass, Shareef Taher on drums, and Brittany Anjou on vibraphone



  • Adam Minkoff, Rite of Spring 2018 Stravinsky arrangement for 8 piece band featuring Michael Eaton sax, Matt Thomas sax, Dan Brantigan trumpet, Kevin Moehringer trombone, Nick Oddy guitar, myself on multiple keyboards, Adam Minkoff bass and arrangement, Nick Anderson drums


  • Jon Crowley, Holding On, Letting Go 2018 Jon’s new album featuring Jon on trumpet with John Beatty alto sax, Alden Banta baritone sax, Owen Caprell bass trombone, myself on piano, Julian Smith on bass, and Dan Pugach on drums.


  • Regina Spektor Live at Soundstage 2017 Live video/album featuring Regina on piano/vocals, Mathias Kunzli on drums, myself on keyboards, and a 9 piece string section led by Yoed Nir on cello and Kristin Wilkinson on violin


  • Cameron Mizell, Negative Spaces 2016 Americana influenced jazz: Cameron Mizell Guitar/Compositions, myself on multiple keyboards (piano, organ, synth bass, rhodes and Wurlitzer electric pianos), and Kenneth Salters on drum


  • Jon Crowley, I Walk Amongst The Humans 2016 Indie Rock influenced jazz featuring Jon Crowley trumpet/compositions, John Beatty sax, Noah Berman guitar, myself on piano, Ben Thomas bass, Max Maples drums


  • Kenneth Salters, Enter to Exit 2015 Modern jazz: featuring guest saxophonist Myron Walden, with Tivon Penicott sax, Matt Holman trumpet, Aki Ishiguro guitar, myself on piano, Bridget Kibbey harp, Spencer Murphy bass, and Kenneth Salters drums/compositions


  • Erika Lloyd, Power 2015 Dream pop featuring Erika Lloyd piano, electric piano, and vocals, Cameron Mizell guitar, myself on keyboards, Adam Minkoff bass, Max Maples drums


  • Michael Eaton, Individuation 2015 African/Minimalist/Free inspired jazz featuring David Liebman on sax. Michael Eaton sax/compositions, Jon Crowley trumpet, myself on piano, Daniel Ori and Scott Colberg bass, Shareef Taher drums


  • Brad Whiteley, Pathless Land 2014 Debut album. Original compositions featuring piano or organ trios. Featuring guest vocalist Erika Lloyd. Andrew Lim guitar, myself on piano or organ, Daniel Foose bass, Kenneth Salters drums



Brad Whiteley Trio Live

Pathless Land CD Release @ ShapeShifter Lab Brooklyn, NY

Brad Whiteley – Piano // Andrew Lim – Guitar // Daniel Foose – Bass // Kenneth Salters – Drums


YouTube Playlist

Various performances from YouTube